Day Trips

When you have chosen a day trip, visit our availability page which is updated daily to check we have places available and then contact us.

We have a wide variety of day trips for birdwatchers and wildlife lovers whether beginner or experienced.

Birds are our main passion although we do include a few trips especially to see Butterflies and Dragonflies.

We leave Witham at 7am and pick ups are available depending on the direction taken. They include Colchester, Witham, Hatfield Peverel, Chelmsford, Shenfield, Grays, Dedham, Birchanger and others. If it’s more convenient you could meet us at the site.

Prices do not include admission to RSPB and other nature reserves.

All you need is a pair of binoculars and packed lunch, If you don't possess a telescope, do not worry as SWALLOW BIRDING has one for everybody to look through.

Booking is essential, give us a call or email to book your place.

Please note: to follow modern nomenclature and systematics, we have adopted the IOC World Bird List, Version 8.2 (2018) for all our itineraries. Occasionally, we may use the British (English) Vernacular name in certain circumstances.

The IOC World Bird List contains the world's bird names as published by the International Ornithological Congress (IOC). See http://www.worldbirdnames.org/ for more details.

Saturday 1st June 2019

NORFOLK BROADS & NIGHTJAR EVENING ...more

Saturday 24th August 2019

BIRDS & BUTTERFLIES OF KENT ...more

Saturday 14th September 2019

WHERE THE PAGER TAKES US – AUTUMN SPECIAL #1 ...more

Saturday 21st September 2019

WHERE THE PAGER TAKES US – AUTUMN SPECIAL #2 ...more

Saturday 28th September 2019

WHERE THE PAGER TAKES US – AUTUMN SPECIAL #3 ...more

Saturday 5th October 2019

WHERE THE PAGER TAKES US – AUTUMN SPECIAL #4 ...more

Saturday 26th October 2019

WHERE THE PAGER TAKES US – AUTUMN SPECIAL #5 ...more

Saturday 23rd November 2019

WINTER BIRDING AT RUTLAND WATER ...more

Saturday 30th November 2019

SCULTHORPE MOOR & TITCHWELL RSPB RESERVES ...more

Saturday 7th December 2019

WINTER RAPTORS ON THE ISLE OF SHEPPEY, KENT ...more

Sunday 8th December 2019

WINTER IN THE BRECKS ...more

Saturday 14th December 2019

OUSE WASHES RSPB RESERVE & GRAFHAM WATER ...more

Saturday 4th January 2020 & Sunday 5th January 2020

WHERE THE PAGER TAKES US – NEW YEAR SPECIAL ...more

Saturday 18th January 2020

DUNGENESS, KENT - WINTER BIRDING AT ITS BEST ...more

Saturday 1st February 2020

WINTER SPECIALITIES OF NORTHEAST NORFOLK ...more

Saturday 15th February 2020

WILD GOOSE CHASE IN NORTHWEST NORFOLK ...more

Saturday 29th February 2020 & Sunday 1st March 2020

ISLE OF SHEPPEY, KENT – WINTER BIRDING ...more

Saturday 7th March 2020

LATE WINTER BIRDING ON THE SUFFOLK COAST ...more

Saturday 18th April 2020

ASHDOWN FOREST IN SPRING ...more

Saturday 13th June 2020

MINSMERE RSPB RESERVE AND NIGHTJAR EVENING ...more

Saturday 20th June 2020

SURREY HEATHLANDS – BIRDS AND BUGS ...more

Sunday 21st June 2020

MINSMERE RSPB RESERVE AND NIGHTJAR EVENING ...more

Saturday 29th August 2020

BROWN HAIRSTREAK HUNT & WILDLIFE OF SUSSEX ...more

Saturday 5th September 2020 & Sunday 6th September 2020

WHERE THE PAGER TAKES US – WADER SPECIAL ...more

Saturday 19th September 2020

WHERE THE PAGER TAKES US – EARLY AUTUMN SPECIAL ...more

Saturday 3rd October 2020

WHERE THE PAGER TAKES US – AUTUMN SPECIAL #1 ...more

Saturday 24th October 2020

WHERE THE PAGER TAKES US – AUTUMN SPECIAL #2 ...more

Saturday 31st October 2020

WHERE THE PAGER TAKES US – AUTUMN SPECIAL #3 ...more

Saturday 7th November 2020

EARLY WINTER IN NORTH NORFOLK ...more

Saturday 14th November 2020

FRAMPTON MARSH RSPB RESERVE ...more

Saturday 19th December 2020

YARE VALLEY WILDLIFE SPECTACULAR ...more