Day Trips

When you have chosen a day trip, visit our availability page which is updated daily to check we have places available and then contact us.

We have a wide variety of day trips for birdwatchers and wildlife lovers whether beginner or experienced.

Birds are our main passion although we do include a few trips especially to see Butterflies and Dragonflies.

We leave Witham at 7am and pick ups are available depending on the direction taken. They include Colchester, Witham, Hatfield Peverel, Chelmsford, Shenfield, Grays, Dedham, Birchanger and others. If it’s more convenient you could meet us at the site.

Prices do not include admission to RSPB and other nature reserves.

All you need is a pair of binoculars and packed lunch, If you don't possess a telescope, do not worry as SWALLOW BIRDING has one for everybody to look through.

Booking is essential, give us a call or email to book your place.

Please note: to follow modern nomenclature and systematics, we have adopted the IOC World Bird List, Version 8.2 (2018) for all our itineraries. Occasionally, we may use the British (English) Vernacular name in certain circumstances.

The IOC World Bird List contains the world's bird names as published by the International Ornithological Congress (IOC). See http://www.worldbirdnames.org/ for more details.

Saturday 18th April 2020

ASHDOWN FOREST IN SPRING ...more

Saturday 13th June 2020

MINSMERE RSPB RESERVE AND NIGHTJAR EVENING ...more

Saturday 20th June 2020

SURREY HEATHLANDS – BIRDS AND BUGS ...more

Sunday 21st June 2020

MINSMERE RSPB RESERVE AND NIGHTJAR EVENING ...more

Saturday 29th August 2020

BROWN HAIRSTREAK HUNT & WILDLIFE OF SUSSEX ...more

Saturday 5th September 2020 & Sunday 6th September 2020

WHERE THE PAGER TAKES US – WADER SPECIAL ...more

Saturday 19th September 2020

WHERE THE PAGER TAKES US – EARLY AUTUMN SPECIAL ...more

Saturday 3rd October 2020

WHERE THE PAGER TAKES US – AUTUMN SPECIAL #1 ...more

Saturday 24th October 2020

WHERE THE PAGER TAKES US – AUTUMN SPECIAL #2 ...more

Saturday 31st October 2020

WHERE THE PAGER TAKES US – AUTUMN SPECIAL #3 ...more

Saturday 7th November 2020

EARLY WINTER IN NORTH NORFOLK ...more

Saturday 14th November 2020

FRAMPTON MARSH RSPB RESERVE ...more

Saturday 19th December 2020

YARE VALLEY WILDLIFE SPECTACULAR ...more

Saturday 9th January 2021

WHERE THE PAGER TAKES US – NEW YEAR SPECIAL ...more

Saturday 23rd January 2021

WINTER BIRDING AT DUNGENESS, KENT ...more

Saturday 30th January 2021

WILD GOOSE SPECTACULAR IN NORTHWEST NORFOLK ...more

Saturday 6th February 2021

RAPTORS, GEESE & WADERS ON THE ISLE OF SHEPPEY, KENT ...more

Saturday 13th February 2021

BEST OF BIRDING ON THE SUFFOLK COAST ...more

Saturday 27th February 2021

RUTLAND WATER IN WINTER ...more

Saturday 13th March 2021

EAST NORFOLK - CRANES, RAPTORS & WILDFOWL ...more

Saturday 27th March 2021

EARLY SPRING AT FRAMPTON MARSH RSPB RESERVE ...more

Saturday 17th April 2021

LAKENHEATH & OUSE WASHES RSPB RESERVES ...more

Saturday 15th May 2021

WHERE THE PAGER TAKES US - SPRING SPECIAL ...more

Saturday 10th July 2021

NORTHAMPTONSHIRE - RED KITE & PURPLE EMPEROR DAY ...more

Sunday 11th July 2021

BIRDS, BUTTERFLIES & ORCHIDS OF THE CHILTERNS ...more

Saturday 17th July 2021

SURREY HEATHLANDS - BIRDS & BUGS ...more

Saturday 14th August 2021

WHERE THE PAGER TAKES US - WADER SPECIAL ...more

Saturday 18th September 2021

DUNGENESS, KENT - LATE SUMMER MIGRANTS ...more

Saturday 2nd October 2021

WHERE THE PAGER TAKES US - AUTUMN SPECIAL #1 ...more

Sunday 3rd October 2021

WHERE THE PAGER TAKES US - AUTUMN SPECIAL #2 ...more

Saturday 23rd October 2021

WHERE THE PAGER TAKES US - AUTUMN SPECIAL #3 ...more

Sunday 24th October 2021

WHERE THE PAGER TAKES US - AUTUMN SPECIAL #4 ...more

Saturday 11th December 2021

WINTER BIRDING IN THE BRECKS #1 ...more

Sunday 12th December 2021

WINTER BIRDING IN THE BRECKS #2 ...more